Classification and diagnostic criteria of age-related macular degeneration

Kanji Takahashi, Tatsuro Ishibashi, Yuichiro Ogur, Mitsuko Yuzawa

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

31 Citations (Scopus)


New classification and diagnosis criteria of age-related macular degeneration in Japan are described. The prodromal stage is classified into 1) soft drusen and 2) retinal pigment epithelial abnormalities. Age-related macular degeneration is classified into 1) exudative age-related macular degeneration and 2) atrophic macular degeneration. As specific types of exudative age-related macular degeneration, (1) polypoidal choroidal vasculopathy and (2) retinal angiomatous proliferation are also included. Diagnostic criteria include 1) prodromal stage, 2) exudative age-related macular degeneration, 3) atrophic age-related macular degeneration, and 4) exclusion criteria. The diagnosis of exudative age-related macular degeneration is certain when one of the following conditions in present: (1) choroidal neovascularization, (2) serous retinal pigment epithelial detachment, (3) hemorrhagic retinal pigment epithelial detachment, or (4) fibrotic scar in the macula.

Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)1076-1084
Number of pages9
JournalNippon Ganka Gakkai zasshi
Issue number12
Publication statusPublished - Jan 1 2008
Externally publishedYes

All Science Journal Classification (ASJC) codes

  • Medicine(all)


Dive into the research topics of 'Classification and diagnostic criteria of age-related macular degeneration'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this